Best laid plans

I had a grand idea. A few weeks ago I was in a cute new-to-me vintage/antique store that I’d driven past a million times (Praha). First of all, this store is amazing and it is an outright SIN that I haven’t stopped in before. They had a 1940’s edition of a Nancy Drew book. Swoon. Added to my collection.

2012-06-07 18.56.39

Project supplies assembled: old window, giant picture

Anyways, as the owner was ringing me up for the assorted sundries I found, there was an old 6-paneled window sitting by the register. I was thinking it would be $70+ (t have you seen the crazy prices people charge for random stuff in the name of “vintage” in Chicago? I’m side-eyeing you, store just down the street from me), but for $35, I couldn’t stop myself. I needed something to hang on my bedroom wall, and it was just too cool. Also, I may have bought this out from under a girl who was planning to use this in her wedding the next day. Oops.

So I had a window sitting in the back of my car for a week, when I had a lightbulb moment: what about filling the window with pictures? Specifically one big picture, so it looks like the window is looking out onto something? I was finally getting some pictures from last year’s Italy trip printed, and apparently Walgreen’s will print posters up to 36×24 for under $30. Not too shabby, I think.

I actually took the time to measure the interior size of the window and it was 36″ by about 26″. I thought I could work with that, but turns out, no.

2012-06-07 22.14.29

Well that’s awkward…

Centering the picture in the window doesn’t really help either. So back to the drawing board on that one.

6 thoughts on “Best laid plans

  1. Ohhhh bummer!! Maybe you could do a different photo for each pane of the window? Like a little photo collage? I hope you figure out something great- and then frame the original photo somewhere else because it’s pretty!! :)

    • The multiple pictures was actually my first thought, Emily! Unfortunately the spaces are a bit bigger than 8×10 so I’m afraid it would look as lopsided as the current poster. If all else fails, I’m just going to hang it as-is to get it off of my floor :-)

  2. The multiple pictures was actually my first thought, Emily! Unfortunately the spaces are a bit bigger than 8×10 so I’m afraid it would look as lopsided as the current poster. If all else fails, I’m just going to hang it as-is to get it off of my floor :-)

    • You actually just gave me a totally new idea. I think craft stores sell stuff to make paint on glass to make “fake” stained glass. I’ll have to look into this now!

Leave a Reply

