Food in jars

Not to steal the title of a fabulous blog, but this just made me so happy I had to share. It’s the little things, what can I say?

2012-06-17 12.11.03

I can actually see the ridiculous number of rices and beans I have!

My area doesn’t have any recycling bins, and it got depressing to throw out all these nice glass jars, so I started saving them to put my silverware in, to use for a little salad dressing (trick I learned from Jacques Pepin–that tiny bit of mustard left in the bottom of the jar? Don’t toss it, just add a little olive oil, vinegar, salt, pepper, and whatever else you like in salad dressing, and shake it up. No wasted mustard or jar, and just enough dressing for a few salads), or as little vases for flowers. But the jars started to pile up, and when one nearly fell off my shelf, I figured I needed to put them to better use.

I wish I had a before picture of my cabinets. There were so many bags and boxes, and half the time I didn’t know what all I had open or half-used. I figured I had enough empty jars to tame some of the mess.

2012-06-17 12.10.45

How many Trader Joe’s products can YOU spot?

Yay for organized cabinets! For anything that I might not remember what it is (brown rice vs. brown basmati) or that I want to save cooking instructions, I just wrote on the jar with a Sharpie. So much better!

One thought on “Food in jars

  1. Pingback: We be jammin’ | My Homespun Home

Leave a Reply

