Makin’ biscuits

Did you know, if you leave green onions in your fridge for two weeks, they will grow new green onions? These are the things I learn when I don’t clean out my fridge before I go out of town. It was a pleasant surprise to come home to a bag of perfectly bright green onions with only a slightly wilty outer layer instead of, well, the alternative.

Eggs and biscuits (and a tiny sliver of ham)

But what does accidentally growing new green onions by way of neglectful refrigerator management have to do with biscuits? Well, I need green onions to make my favorite biscuits, of course.

Flaky biscuits, topped with salt and pepper

Most people seem to have a preference for either drop biscuits or rolled. Personally I don’t think as anything can beat the flaky layers of the rolled version (given the lengths I will go to for flaky pie dough, is it any surprise?). I have not yet had a drop biscuit that didn’t just taste…lazy.

Cornmeal, flour, baking powder, sugarEverything's better with butterShaggy dough

I don’t have any good stories to tell about these other than they’re fantastic. The cornmeal in the dough and salt and pepper sprinkled over the top adds crunch, green onions add tang, the yogurt makes them tender, the butter (of course) makes them delicious.

Biscuit dough, ready for rollingTwo of these things are not like the others

They’re pretty adaptable little guys too–I’ve left out the onions completely, added grated cheddar, used fine cornmeal instead of medium, used buttermilk instead of the yogurt and milk, cut in circles instead of squares (don’t you know the shape makes them taste different? I’m only kind of joking…). As long as you don’t overwork the dough terribly, it’s hard to make these “wrong.”

But the for-real best thing about these? They are so good with an over-easy egg I can’t even explain. And if you happen to have a little bit of ham to sneak under the egg? …Yeah. Just make these. You won’t regret it.

Eggs and biscuits

Biscuits with Cornmeal and Green Onion
As mentioned above, these take well to modifications depending on your tastes–the important thing is to keep the butter/flour/baking powder/liquid proportions the same. Adapted from Bon Appetite’s buttermilk biscuits with green onions, black pepper, and sea salt, these make about 10 large biscuits.

1/2 cup plain yogurt, chilled (I used greek yogurt, but regular yogurt would be fine too)
1/4 cup cold milk
1/2 cup finely chopped green onions
2 cups flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup medium-grind cornmeal
2 1/2 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper plus additional for sprinkling
1/2 cup (1 stick) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes, plus 1 tablespoon melted butter
Coarse sea salt or flaked Maldon salt

Preheat oven to 425 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper (why, oh why, is parchment paper too wide for every single one of my baking sheets? So wasteful).

Combine yogurt, milk, and green onions in a measuring cup or small bowl. Whisk flour, baking powder, cornmeal, sugar, and 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper in a large bowl to blend. Add 1/2 cup chilled butter and cut in with a pastry cutter or rub with your fingertips until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Add yogurt mixture and stir until moist clumps form and gently squeezing a handful of dough just holds it together.

Turn dough out onto floured surface and fold over a few times to bring the dough together, about 3 to 4 turns. Shape into a rough rectangle and roll or press out to 3/4-inch thickness. Using a sharp knife or board scraper, cut biscuits into about 2×2 inch squares. Gather scraps into round biscuits (you can reroll the dough and cut into squares, but the more you work the dough, the more you run the risk of tough biscuits).

Place 2 inches apart on prepared baking sheet. Brush tops of biscuits with melted butter. Sprinkle lightly with sea salt and ground black pepper.

Bake biscuits until golden, about 20 minutes, then remove to a cooling rack. These are best served warm, but they can be reheated for a few minutes in a 300 degree oven the next day and they’ll still be tasty.

9 thoughts on “Makin’ biscuits

  1. I BET THET WOULD BE GOOD WITH BOTH THE ONIONS & CHEESE, I MIGHT HAVE TO TRY THESE, I DON’T CARE FOR CORN MEAL BUT ONIONS AND MAYBE ADD SOME GARLIC TO THEM AND IT WILL DISTRACT ME FROM THE CORNMEAL, YUM. SEE YA

    • Yep, I’ve done them with the green onions and cheese, very tasty. And the cornmeal is more for texture than flavor, at least to me (you could use finer ground cornmeal, or ever try flour in its place). I hope you like them!

  2. When I first looked at the picture (without my glasses mind you), I thought the biscuit was a piece of salmon. Okay, okay – I know I know.
    These sound fantastic – and gee – I just happen to have some plain Greek yogurt in the refrigerator! And the thought of having them with an egg – splendid idea.

    • Well…they’d be good with salmon? So I think that counts as close enough :-)

      I hope you like them if you try them! And pretty much every-food-thing in my world is better with an egg on top.

  3. Your Grandmother, Grandfather, Aunt and Uncle are coming over this weekend. Guess what they will be having for breakfast, with a little ham, of course. Thanks for the great idea.

  4. The biscuits were quite good and I’d make them again. I like the crunchiness of the corn meal and the onions were a nice flavor boost. I would bake them for less time the next time I made them but they were a nice addition to an egg and sausage breakfast for the family. Thanks for the idea, Christina.

  5. Pingback: Butter makes everything better | My Homespun Home

  6. Pingback: What’s Cooking Wednesday: Almost Thanksgiving! | My Homespun Home

Leave a Reply

