Rhubarb pie to celebrate

A year ago today I claimed this little corner of the Internet as my own. I wasn’t sure what to expect, not sure what to write, very little idea of how to take a decent picture, or even who would read what I had to say. And yet here we are, a year and 62 posts later, and I couldn’t be more thankful for everything. So here, have a slice of some birthday pie. Sorry, I forgot the candles, but I do have ice cream.

Rhubarb pie

This recipe embodies everything I hoped this blog would lead to. Last year was my first encounter with rhubarb and I shared it with you; this year, I couldn’t wait for it to show up so I could really explore what I’ve been missing.

ChoppedSugared and floured

Last year, making pie crust involved muttered swears and prayers over bowls and rolling pins, with no discernible rhyme or reason to success or failure. Through some crazy experiments, including learning to render my own lard, I’ve had three pie crust successes in a row–hardly mastery, but as least my confidence has grown leaps and bounds (…I’ve just jinxed myself, haven’t I?).

I love this pie crust

As much as I’ve learned about cooking over the past year, though, the best part by far has been sharing with you and reading your comments; those connections mean everything to me, so thank you.

When it comes to this pie, it seems a crying shame to wait until strawberries appear to enjoy rhubarb. Since their seasons overlap for just a few short weeks around here, half of rhubarb season is already gone by the time summer’s opening act takes stage. Why not enjoy spring’s sweetest offering on its own merits? I think it’s earned its moment in the spotlight.

Ready to mixLook like frosted sugar candiesPie in the makingReady to rollFilled with rhubarb

If you’re a rhubarb newbie like me, this pie is a great place to start. Rather than muddling flavors with strawberries, rhubarb stands on its own here. Its tartness is tamed with just enough sugar to make this a for-real dessert, juices are thickened simply with flour into the prettiest mauve-y pink oozy filling, cinnamon adds just enough to bring out the full range of rhubarb’s flavors.

Rhubarb pieNothing better

Cheers to year two everyone–thanks for sticking around. There’s pie on the counter and ice cream in the freezer, please help yourself.

Rhubarb Pie
As always, you can use whatever pie crust you like, but considering I’ve had three successes in a row with it, I’m ready to claim that this is my holy grail of pie crusts. The filling is adapted from Anne Dimock’s Straight-Up Rhubarb Pie.

1 double pie crust, prepared for a 9″ pie pan

6 cups diced rhubarb
1 1/4 cup sugar, plus more for dusting
1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon flour
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 tablespoon butter, cut into cubes

1 egg, lightly beaten with a tablespoon of water

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Mix together pie crust ingredients and form into two balls; refrigerate while you prepare the filling.

In a large bowl, mix together rhubarb, flour, sugar, and cinnamon.

Roll out one ball of dough to fit a pie pan, pour in filling, top with butter cubes. Brush edges of the crust with the egg. Roll out the second dough ball and lay it over the filling. Trim edges of crust and crimp them together to seal. Brush the top of the crust with more eggwash then sprinkle with sugar. Cut several vents in the top crust to allow steam to escape.

Bake for 15 minutes at 450 then reduce the temperate to 350 and bake for 30-35 minutes, or until the crust is lightly golden and pink juices are bubbling through the vents.

Attempt to restrain yourself from sneaking a slice while the pie cools. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream.

7 thoughts on “Rhubarb pie to celebrate

  1. Happy anniversary, kiddo! I have enjoyed being around for your exploration. You have just exploded as a foodie, always willing to try new things and to seek out a lot of information from others about the food they enjoy and cook. And more importantly, you have begun to hone your storytelling. The beauty of food is sharing and even though you live too many miles away from family, we all can really experience your food through your wonderful stories and the great pictures. Cheers to you!

    • Thanks Mom! I love how writing here brings back memories I would have otherwise forgotten, and even if I’m not around the family to literally share what I made (at least until people visit and I feed you all muffins and granola and ice cream), at least I can share the recipe!

  2. Happy Anniversary Christina! Thanks for the year of great food and very descriptive stories to go with it. Your Mom’s right, you have the ability to make the reader taste what you’re describing. Ironically I’ve been thinking of making a rhubarb pie, now I have no excuse. Kudos to you!

    • Thanks Aunt Nat! I figure I may not get to see you very often, but it’s nice to think some of my food might make it down to florida this way anyways :-) I do hope you make the pie, it’s really fantastic! And really simple, which is even better.

  3. Pingback: In a rhubarb jam | My Homespun Home

  4. Pingback: Savoring the season | My Homespun Home

  5. Pingback: Happy Pi(e) Day! | My Homespun Home

Leave a Reply

