Too much of a good thing

Summer is a funny time for food. It starts with FRESH. EVERYTHING.

Skewered and fired

On one side of the coin, fruits and vegetables are so good I want to make every recipe I stumble on. I want to make a pie a day, fruit scones and sauces, ice cream and jam. I want salads of everything I can get my hands on, grilled anything, stuffed sandwiches spilling their juicy vegetable insides all down my arm while I try to pretend that I’m civilized and that I know how to use a napkin.

Kabobs

On the other side of that coin, though, I don’t want to cook at all. What could be more perfect than the freshest berries or sweet little peas eaten straight out of hand? Why mess with perfection like that? The most amazing lettuce tossed with a squeeze of lemon, drizzle of oil, sprinkle of salt—nothing else is called for or needed. A plate of vegetables and fruit, maybe a little sausage and cheese, a chunk of crusty bread and (hopefully! finally!) a sunny, not-too-humid evening on the porch with a glass of wine and the sounds of the city.

Smoky Garlic-y

(That all sounds much more romantic than the more frequent reality—it’s too hot or rainy to grill or I’m too tired to cook anything by the time I get home. I like the romantic version better.)

Sauced
That said, I think this recipe is a pretty good compromise between the two sides. Vegetables (whatever you like and is in season) are skewered and brushed with a smoky glaze before a quick sizzle on the grill to barely soften; shrimp and spicy smoked sausage are an optional, though delicious, addition. Add a chunk of salty Spanish cheese and that piece of crusty bread (along with that glass of wine) to elevate this to fancy party snack fare.

Grilling

Speaking of the sounds of the city, I’ve been on a Chicago reading kick this summer. The two books so far that I’ve been recommending to everyone are 1001 Nights in Chicago by Ben Hecht (I got the edition with the introduction by Bill Savage, expert in all things literary and Chicago, and my former professor and thesis advisor), and Never a City So Real by Alex Kotlowitz.

1001 Nights, a compilation of 2-3 page character sketches written for Hecht’s 1920’s newspaper column, is easy to pick up and put down or open to any page and start reading–nothing feels as break-the-rules summer-y as that to me. Kotlowitz’s book is short, only 160 pages, but it’s a great look at some of the less-talked-about parts of the city and its people: the Bud Billiken parade, the southwest side’s union past, an artist who paints murals in public housing, a lawyer who works at the county courthouse. Kotlowitz’s book is pretty current, Hecht’s is nearly 100 years old, but there’s a not-so-surprising continuity in the people, history, and feel of Chicago.

Next on my list, whenever I get my hands on a copy, is The Third Coast: When Chicago Built the American Dream by Thomas Dyja, along with some requisite summer fluff reading. Anything on your summer to-read list?

Smoked Paprika Glaze with Vegetables, Shrimp, and Sausage
This glaze, adapted from Epicurious, makes a good amount and is both brushed on before grilling and as a dipping sauce for serving. If the paprika starts to get clumpy, just give it a good stir.

3/4 cup olive oil
4 teaspoons sherry vinegar
4 large garlic cloves, finely chopped
2 tablespoons fresh thyme, chopped
5 teaspoons smoked paprika
1/2 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper

Cherry tomatoes
Mushrooms, whole or halved if large
Red onion, cut into large chunks
Peppers (red, yellow, or orange would be best)
Shrimp (I prefer un-peeled for the best flavor and to help avoid overcooking)
Fully cooked smoked sausage, like linguica or andouille, cut into 1-inch rounds
Baguette or other crusty bread

Prepare a charcoal or gas grill for a medium fire, or preheat your broiler to high.

Whisk together the oil, vinegar, garlic, thyme, paprika, red pepper, salt, and pepper. Set aside half for serving.

Skewer tomatoes, mushrooms, onion, peppers, shrimp, and sausage. You can mix everything together or do separate skewers for each ingredient.

Brush the glaze over the skewers and grill, turning the skewers and continuing to brush on the glaze, until the vegetables begin to soften and take on grill marks and the shrimp are just opaque.

Serve skewers hot or at room temperature with extra glaze and bread for dipping.

3 thoughts on “Too much of a good thing

  1. Skewers! That’s my answer to “what do I serve for a dinner party of 6 next week during the week. I don’t want a heavy meal and I don’t want it to be too light. With some nice bruscetta before dinner, a simple salad as you defined, some couscous and pound cake with berries this is the perfect company meal on what will be a very hot day. Thanks for the tip!!

Leave a Reply

