In the garden

I have a garden! If you follow me on Facebook/Instagram/Twitter, you probably know this already, but I’m so, so excited that this will be my first year growing more than a little pot of lettuce and some flowers on my porch.

Plant markers

I learned about Chicago’s Peterson Garden Project and their pop-up victory gardens last year, but finally joined after urging from a friend who’s gardened with them in the past. For $75, I get a 4×8 plot with organic soil that’s all mine from April through October. Most people with a garden this size use the square foot gardening method (I’ll share more about that in another post), so I’m following suit for now. It’s definitely different than what I remember from my dad’s garden growing up and its orderly rows of beans and carrots and lettuce and corn.

So far I’ve planted seeds for:

I also bought baby plants of:

Other plants I still need to buy are:

  • Cucumbers (I hope I can find a baby cucumber to use for making cornichons!)
  • Strawberries
  • Herbs: Genovese basil, parsley, thyme, chives/garlic chives, oregano, mint (only in a pot)
  • Hot pepper

Baby plants

The history of victory gardens goes back to World War II and, reassuringly, I learned that people back then knew about as much as I do about having a vegetable garden than I do (which is pretty much nil, but luckily I have plenty of green thumb-ed friends and family as guides)! The Peterson Garden Project is a lot more recent, but is doing great work in a lot of areas I’m passionate about: eating locally, making good food accessible to under-served communities, helping people (like me!) learn to grow their own food, putting neglected urban spaces to good use, and building strong communities around Chicago. They’re doing much more than that, which I’ll talk about in another post, but for now I’ll direct you to their website if you want to learn more.

I’m positively giddy to see how this experiment goes and how different this view looks come July!

My garden!

(P.S. I don’t have any association with PGP other than thinking what they do is worth sharing.)

2 thoughts on “In the garden

  1. Christina, your experience from your childhood should come in handy. I’m looking forward to seeing how that little space looks in a month or two with all the stuff you want to grow in it. It will be very interesting to watch. (PS: your dad will be a great help)

  2. You are again an inspiration. I put my raised garden together using a 4×4 box I made with my new recipricol saw, an old table top that I drilled holes into and an old 2×4 wooden box. I loved the small garden information you sent to me. I wish I could have found all of the unique plants that you have. I fondly remember gardening at your grandparent’s house with your Dad and my family. My family would drive an hour out to the farm after work to work the fields, so to speak. It was a real hoot. And the abundance of produce was something we city slickers never experienced. I believe your Aunt Sue is a chicken “farmer” now because of her early experiences out in Rootstown. Ha! Isn’t that ironic. Let’s now hope for an abundance of full days of sun.

Leave a Reply

