What’s Cooking Wednesday: The Thursday Edition

The forecast may say it’s going to be 50 this weekend, but I think it’s finally starting to feel like the holidays. My tree is decorated, my Christmas music station on Pandora is perfected (a good dose of Barenaked Ladies feat. Sarah McLaughlin with a touch of Pentatonix a capella), I’ve run out of counter space for cookies (I’ve successfully scaled back to only 8 kinds this year!), and I finally figured out how to light my fireplace (it’s no “chestnuts roasting” but it certainly looks cozy…and I found a candle that smells like a wood fire, so, close enough).

Getting there...

I was considering putting together a holiday gift guide, some fun suggestions for the foodies (and non-foodies) in your life, but to be quite honest I’m not feeling the consumerism this year. Most everyone in my life is getting homemade gifts (jams, pickles, mustards, gin, etc.) and I’m not really asking for anything–wooden spoons (I’m down to my last one), oven thermometer, little stuff like that. It’s nice to feel content with the things I have, and the giving part is always more fun anyways.

We are cookie baking machines!

That said, I do still love flipping through all the holiday gift catalogs, especially the food-related ones, which means I have to share this, The Haters Guide to the Williams-Sonoma Catalog. My favorite may be the mushroom log ($190 exclusive glass cloche not included). There are also editions for the 2012 and 2013 catalogs–anyone want a beehive or chicken coop (the chicken painting is extra)?

How cozy!

2 thoughts on “What’s Cooking Wednesday: The Thursday Edition

  1. It sounds like you will finally be happy with coal in your stocking on Christmas morning. I’m with you and cutting back on baking cookies. And now knowing what you will be bringing home, I can bake the complimentary batches. Your pictures and your baking and cooking advice have been gifts to me throughout the year. I’m happy to have you home for the holidays and next to me in the kitchen. All I want for Christmas is my 2 baking/cooking daughters (and the other one who barely knows how to boil water).

    Like

Leave a Reply

