Je suis Charlie

B6w_bICIQAAzHH7
Image credit: Maxime Haes

This isn’t the kind of news I usually talk about here, but the attack and murders at the office of Charlie Hebdo yesterday was so deeply disturbing I felt compelled to add my voice to the outraged millions.

I write about food. That’s hardly a controversial topic, and a pretty privileged one at that, but I have the opportunity to write because others actively push the limits of and fight to protect freedom of expression–including those who satirize and mock in the extreme. I, we all, benefit from their efforts regardless of personal politics or religious affiliations. Those who operate on the edge make it possible for the rest of us to have–and express–our own beliefs.

Relatedly, 2014 was one of the worst years for the rights and safety of journalists. Journalists attacked, kidnapped, and brutally murdered like James Foley; journalists arrested and held by state governments–it’s unconscionable. There is no free society while the truth-tellers are silenced.

I won’t pretend that, based on the few days I spent there, I know Parisians or the French in any deeply meaningful way to speak to their character as a city or a nation, but I see and hear their response, and the response by the world, and it says enough. And while I’m sure it’s small comfort to the families and loved ones of those who were killed, there’s immeasurable power in turning such a crime into a rallying cry.

Charlie vit.

One thought on “Je suis Charlie

Leave a Reply

