Bella Barcelona

The past six months have felt a bit like a real-life “Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego?” minus the red hat and the international intrigue.  Which is to say, last week I spent four incredible days in (and just outside of) Barcelona.

Sant Pau Hospital View from La Sagrada Familia Paella Barceloneta Focaccia

It was a trip of firsts–first time in Spain, first time baking bread in a wood-burning oven, first time taking a cooking class in someone’s home, first time using AirBnB, first time using the tiny bit of Spanish I remembered from high school (which, as I learned, was only marginally helpful as all the signs are in, and many people speak, Catalan). Most significantly for me, though, it was the first trip I’ve done completely by myself, with no agenda or priorities other than my own. It was a transformative experience, one I’m still processing, but that I could not be more grateful to have had.

I’m still organizing my thoughts (and nearly 2,000 photos), but more, so much more–all the amazing people I met, the beautiful sights, the food (oh, the food!)–to come soon. Bon dia!

Sagrada Familia Barcelona museumMuseum fountain Bread LunchBarcelona Cathedral Sagrada Familia

2 thoughts on “Bella Barcelona

Leave a Reply

