Busy Summer and Exciting Changes to Come

Hi everyone–as  you’ve no doubt noticed, it’s been pretty quiet on the blog the past several months, though the quiet here belies the busy-ness of my life lately, between gardening, cookbook club-ing, paella-teaching, chef-camping–oh, and quitting my job to follow my passion.

Paella Class

Yep, in July I left my job in communications at Northwestern University, where I worked for 10 years, and next week will start a new job managing the community cooking school for Peterson Garden Project. This is about as close as it gets to a dream job–working with people who are as passionate as I am about teaching the value of good food and building relationships and community around a shared meal. It makes my soul happy.

And, with timing that seems fated, I spent last weekend immersed in the amazing-ness that is Chef Camp with the Spence Farm Foundation learning not just the how’s of sustainable farming and food production, but–more important to me–the why’s. I’m still somewhat overwhelmed and trying to process all that I learned in two very short (and very long) days from incredible teachers, including my fellow campers, but to say I’m inspired is putting it mildly.

I don’t think I would be at this point–feeling so full of purpose and having found a productive outlet for my passion–if I hadn’t started this blog four years ago. And I wouldn’t have kept at it without the support from you, for which all I can say is a most heartfelt thank you.

The blog isn’t going anywhere, though! I still have a summer’s-worth of stuff I want to share, but in the meantime here are a few of the highlights in pictures.

Tomato-to-be

August 10 garden harvest

Paella class with 25 student plus 7 volunteers

Brunch Cookbook Club

Spence Farm

Harvesting squash blossoms for Rick Bayless

Making breakfast

Spence Farm cows

2 thoughts on “Busy Summer and Exciting Changes to Come

Leave a Reply

